Library Catalog Quick Search
Search For  

2014 Award Winners for Children's Literature

medalAnother year, another awards list! Every year the American Library Association, ALA, announces its list of winners for some of the most esteemed literary awards. Here is this year's list of winners in Children's Literature. 

The Caldecott Medal for "most distinguished American picture book for children" - Locomotive written and illustrated by Brian Floca

The Newberry Medal for "most outstanding contribution to children's literature" - Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Katie DeCamillo, illustrated by K.G. Campbell

The Coretta Scott King award for an African-American author and illustrator - P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia


The Pura Belpre awards for a Latino writer and illustrator "whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience" - Nino Wrestles the World illustrated and written by Yuyi Morales, won for illustrations.