Library Catalog Quick Search
Search For  

2015 Youth Media Awards

Caldecott Medal  Newbery Medal  

Today, the American Library Association has announced the winners of the 2015 Youth Media Awards. This includes the well-known Newbery & Caldecott Medals! And the winners are...


John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander


Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat


Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:

Firebird illustrated by Christopher Myers, written by Misty Copeland


Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson


Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

Children's: A Boy and a Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz

Middle Grade: Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin

Young Adult: Girls Like Us by Gail Giles


Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book:

You Are (Not) Small by Anna Kang


Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Viva Frida by Yuyi Morales

Pura Belpré (Author) Award:

I Lived on Butterfly Hill by Marjorie Agosin (on order)

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children:

Donald Crews


Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children:

Roget and His Thesaurus by Jennifer Bryant



Check out more awards, the honor books, and more live at the ALA Midwinter Conference here!